top of page
  • Writer's pictureAshley Mongrain

The Silence of Bones

Updated: Jul 12, 2021


Rating - ⭐⭐⭐⭐


"I have a mouth, but I mustn't speak;

Ears, but I mustn't hear;

Eyes, but I mustn't see.


1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.


As they delve deeper into the dead woman's secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.


But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.


June Hur's elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh."


 

The Silence of Bones by June Hur is a standalone historical fiction novel with mystery elements set in Joseon dynasty, Korea.


As someone who loves a good Korean drama, I was excited to pick this up as I had never read anything set in Joseon before. Needless to say, I was rather happy by the fact that I did end up enjoying this.


Everything about this was fascinating to read about. The historical setting, the political intrigue, the murder mystery. It was particularly interesting to see how women were treated back in 1800s Korea (assuming that everything in this is factual).


If you're a fan of period Korean dramas, then definitely check this book out.



3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page